Compound Miter Saw

IMG_4492

The name alone would be enough to qualify as a cool contraption; but it’s also an eminently useful tool. As the name implies, this saw allows accurate cuts that are angled in 2 planes.

Wendy gave me this professional grade 24” Jorgensen saw for my birthday last year. It took me a while to understand its usefulness, but when we were cutting the framing beams for our oven roof, I discovered that it was exactly what I needed. My electric Skil saw is a lot faster, but it’s too small to cut a 4×4 in a single cut; and don’t even think of attempting a compound cut.

It’s a bit difficult to find replacement blades these days; I should probably stock up on those. I look forward to a lot of good service from this tool in future projects.

This entry was posted in House. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

